Turkeysong

Experimental Homestead

Check out the new Paleotechnics blog

THIS BLOG IS RETIRED, I’VE MOVED TO SKILLCULT.COM   

ALL THE OLD TURKEYSONG POSTS ARE THERE AND MORE, CHECK IT OUT!

When I started this blog I was going to throw everything together under one roof from music reviews to opinions, to primitive stuff, to how-to homesteading stuff.  I like that idea because it represents my life and thoughts as a diversified whole.  However, I realize that a lot of people who want to read about chickens and fruit trees might not want to read about the best heavy metal band ever, or other random topics.  I’ll probably be keeping this blog pretty focused on homesteady stuff, with suffusions of opinion and philosophy as they are relevant to how and why I do things.  For now, less related opinions and over arching philosophies will take a seat on the back burner.  I was also not too sure about writing about some of the primitive stuff I do.

I’ve decided to open another blog for Paleotechnics.  The Paleotechnics blog will be for the paleo stuff,  I’ve been involved with for 25 years or so.  Some topics will include, wild foods, tanning and leather working, fire by friction, learning plants, natural glues and paints, fire topics, stone tools and stuff like that.  I already have over 125 potential topics lined out.  The format will be shorter than the Turkeysong blog for the most part.  I’m going to try to keep posts short and less comprehensive.  The shorter approach is partly due to the fact that I can only spend so much time on the computer, but also because I plan to (or in some cases already have done) write in much greater depth about many of these topics in the future.  It will be difficult to decide where to put an article occasionally.  In those cases, I will cross post things like tanning skins that might be of interest to Turkeysong followers.  The first Paleotechnics post is up if you want to check it out.  It is on harvesting, storing and using California bay nuts.

November 5, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds interesting to me:)

    Comment by Lisette Root | November 5, 2012 | Reply

  2. Never heard of them, as they say first time for everything. I have never seen them in stores, maybe that is why.

    Comment by Ed Tieman | November 6, 2012 | Reply

    • I would be surprised if anyone has ever seen them in any store, but that might change someday. I doubt they’ll be very good though since they are so much better when fresh roasted. I forgot to post the link, but there is a more in depth article on the Paleotechnics website about bay nuts and bay trees. Here is the URL> http://www.paleotechnics.com/Articles/Bayarticle.html

      Comment by Stevene | November 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

